Cover image of Sakasama no Patema
Poster of Sakasama no Patema

Sakasama no Patema


Patema is a plucky young girl from an underground civilization boasting an incredible network of tunnels. Inspired by a friend that mysteriously went missing, she is often reprimanded due to her constant excursions of these tunnels due to her royal status. After she enters what is known as the "forbidden zone," she accidentally falls into a giant bottomless pit after being startled by a strange creature.

Finding herself on the surface, a world literally turned upside down, she begins falling towards the sky only to be saved by Age, a discontented student of the totalitarian nation known as Aiga. The people of Aiga are taught to believe that "Inverts," like Patema, are sinners that will be "swallowed by the sky," but Age has resisted this propaganda and decides to protect his new friend. A chance meeting between two curious teenagers leads to an exploration of two unique worlds as they begin working together to unveil the secrets of their origins in Sakasama no Patema, a heart-warming film about overcoming differences in order to coexist.

The film was first premiered at France's Annecy, the world's largest animation festival, on June 13, 2013. Screening in Japanese theaters began on November 9, 2013.

English: Patema Inverted

Synonyms: Sakasama no Patema

Type: Movie

Episodes: 1

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Nov 09, 2013

Season: Fall 2013

Studio: Studio Rikka Purple Cow Studio Japan

Duration: 98 minutes

Alternative Version

recommendation or anime you might like

Tenkuu no Shiro Laputa
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 1986
Kimi no Na wa.
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2016
Karigurashi no Arrietty
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2010
Tenki no Ko
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2019
Howl no Ugoku Shiro
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Fall 2004
TV - 22 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2003
Eve no Jikan (Movie)
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Spring 2010
Shinsekai yori
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2012
Ryuu no Haisha
Special - 2 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2017
Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Fall 2004
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2001
Made in Abyss
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2017
Koukyoushihen Eureka Seven
TV - 50 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2005
Nagi no Asu kara
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2013
Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2017
Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Spring 1984
Episodes (0)