Cover image of Hakuouki
Poster of Hakuouki



In 1864 Japan, a young woman named Chizuru Yukimura is searching for her missing father, Koudou, a doctor by trade whose work often takes him far from home. But with no word from him in months, Chizuru disguises herself as a man and heads to Kyoto in search of him. Attracting the attention of ronin, she tries to hide and ends up witnessing a horrifying sight: the ronin being brutally murdered by crazed white-haired men. In a startling turn of events, members of the Shinsengumi arrive to dispatch the creatures. But Chizuru's safety doesn't last long, as this group of men tie her up and take her back to their headquarters, unsure of whether to let her live or silence her permanently.

However, once she reveals the name of her father, the Shinsengumi decide to keep her safe, as they too have been searching for him. But Koudou is more connected to the Shinsengumi than they let on, and soon Chizuru finds herself embroiled in a conflict between the Shinsengumi and their enemies, as well as political tension in Kyoto.

English: Hakuoki ~Demon of the Fleeting Blossom~

Synonyms: Hakuoki,Hakuouki: Shinsengumi Kitan

Type: TV

Episodes: 12

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Apr 04, 2010 to Jun 20, 2010

Season: Spring 2010

Studio: Studio Deen

Duration: 23 minutes


Hakuouki Reimeiroku
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2012


Hakuouki Hekketsuroku
TV - 10 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2010

Side Story

Hakuouki Sekkaroku
OVA - 6 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2011

Alternative Version

Hakuouki Movie 1: Kyoto Ranbu
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2013


Hakuouki: Otogisoushi
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2016

recommendation or anime you might like

Hiiro no Kakera
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2012
Peace Maker Kurogane
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2003
Saiunkoku Monogatari
TV - 39 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2006
Vampire Knight
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2008
TV - 201 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2006
Donten ni Warau
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2014
Samurai Champloo
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2004
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2013
Akatsuki no Yona
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2014
TV - 366 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2004
Fushigi Yuugi
TV - 52 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 1995
Basilisk: Kouga Ninpou Chou
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2005
Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2016
Episodes (0)