Cover image of Blade of the Immortal
Poster of Blade of the Immortal

Blade of the Immortal


Manji is an infamous swordsman in feudal Japan who is known as the "Hundred Man Killer," as he has killed one hundred innocent men. However, there is something far more frightening than his ominous reputation: the fact that he is immortal. This is the handiwork of eight-hundred-year-old nun Yaobikuni, who placed bloodworms capable of healing almost any wound in Manji's body.

To atone for his crimes, Manji resolves to kill one thousand evil men. Yaobikuni agrees to this proposal, saying that if he succeeds, she will undo his curse of immortality. Soon after this promise, Manji meets Rin Asano, a 16-year-old girl who requests Manji's assistance in killing those who slaughtered her parents.

Initially reluctant, Manji refuses Rin's desperate plea. However, owing to her evident lack of strength, Manji changes his mind and agrees to protect Rin for four years. With this partnership set in stone, the two embark on a perilous journey of bloodshed, vengeance, and redemption, each to fulfill their own life's cause.

English: Blade of the Immortal

Synonyms: Mugen no Juunin

Type: TV

Episodes: 13

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Jul 14, 2008 to Dec 29, 2008

Season: Summer 2008

Studio: Bee Train

Duration: 24 minutes


Mugen no Juunin: Immortal
ONA - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2019

recommendation or anime you might like

Samurai Champloo
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2004
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2008
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2007
Seirei no Moribito
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2007
Basilisk: Kouga Ninpou Chou
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2005
Kenpuu Denki Berserk
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 1997
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2010
Stranger: Mukou Hadan
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Fall 2007
Samurai 7
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2004
Afro Samurai: Resurrection
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Winter 2009
Episodes (0)