Cover image of Touhai Densetsu Akagi: Yami ni Maiorita Tensai
Poster of Touhai Densetsu Akagi: Yami ni Maiorita Tensai

Touhai Densetsu Akagi: Yami ni Maiorita Tensai

闘牌伝説アカギ 闇に舞い降りた天才

While mahjong is a game that is often played with family and friends, it is also a game that is played in the darkest corners of society. Nangou is a compulsive gambler who has accumulated debt over three million yen. In a last ditch attempt to clear his record, he decides to wager his life on a game of mahjong with the mafia. Unfortunately, as the game progresses, Nangou only moves further from the prize and closer to death.

When all hope seems lost, the game parlor is suddenly intruded upon by Shigeru Akagi, a young boy on the run from the police. Desperate to turn the game around, Nangou hands the game over to Akagi after teaching him a few of the rules. The mafia can only smirk as Akagi sits down to play. However, they soon come to learn that Akagi is a natural-born gambler. An imposing figure who does not fear death. One who is destined to become a legend.

Synonyms: Mahjong Legend Akagi: The Genius Who Descended Into the Darkness, The Legend of Mahjong: Akagi

Type: TV

Episodes: 26

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Oct 05, 2005 to Mar 29, 2006

Season: Fall 2005

Studio: Madhouse

Duration: 23 minutes

recommendation or anime you might like

Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2007
One Outs
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2008
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2009
Death Note
TV - 37 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2006
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2017
Shion no Ou
TV - 22 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2007
Hikaru no Go
TV - 75 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2001
Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Hakairoku-hen
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2011
Rainbow: Nisha Rokubou no Shichinin
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2010
Hellsing Ultimate
OVA - 10 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2006
Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2006
Death Billiards
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Spring 2013
Young Black Jack
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2015
Hajime no Ippo
TV - 75 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2000
Saki Achiga-hen: Episode of Side-A
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2012
Episodes (0)