Cover image of Garo: Honoo no Kokuin
Poster of Garo: Honoo no Kokuin

Garo: Honoo no Kokuin


In the name of the king, the Valiante Kingdom launched hunts to exterminate users of witchcraft. Seventeen years later, their pursuit is still growing in both size and brutality. Unbeknownst to the citizens, the targets of these witch hunts are the secret protectors of humanity. Known as the Makai Knights and Alchemists, they have a strong will to protect people from Horrors, demons who possess souls plagued by sadness and pain.

One such Makai Knight is 17-year-old Leon Luis who inherits the legendary armor of the Golden Knight Garo from his mother. Though he possesses great power, he struggles to overcome the hatred he bears from his mother's death at the hands of the kingdom. His father German, known as Zoro the Shadow Cutting Knight, is still training Leon when he is called to investigate the upsurge of Horrors in the kingdom's capital. Although German knows Leon's will is wavering, he decides to bring Leon along to continue his training.

As German and Leon head to the capital, the king's amiable son Alfonso San Valiante struggles to find a solution to the growing Horror threat. But before he can do so, he is double-crossed and banished from his own kingdom. To return home, Alfonso sets out to find the help and strength he needs to reclaim the throne. During his search, he comes across Leon, whose interactions with the prince will forever change both of their fates.


Synonyms: Garo Project

Japanese: 牙狼〈GARO〉-炎の刻印-

Type: TV

Episodes: 24

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Oct 04, 2014 to Mar 28, 2015

Season: Fall 2014

Studio: MAPPA

Duration: 24 minutes


Garo: Honoo no Kokuin - Home
Special - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Fall 2015

Alternative Setting

Garo: Guren no Tsuki
TV - 23 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2015
Garo: Vanishing Line
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2017

recommendation or anime you might like

Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2014
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2007
Devilman: Crybaby
ONA - 10 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2018
TV - 103 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2006
OVA - 6 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2005
Kenpuu Denki Berserk
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 1997
Tales of the Abyss
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2008
Ushio to Tora (TV)
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2015
Akame ga Kill!
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2014
ONA - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2019
Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2017
Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2015
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2010
Brotherhood: Final Fantasy XV
ONA - 5 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2016
Kimetsu no Yaiba
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2019
Shingeki no Kyojin
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2013
Vampire Hunter D (2000)
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2000
TV - 220 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2002
Episodes (0)