Cover image of Hikaru no Go
Poster of Hikaru no Go

Hikaru no Go


12-year-old Shindou Hikaru is just your average 6th grader. One day, while searching through his grandfather's attic, he comes across an old Go board. Upon touching the Go board, Hikaru is possessed by the spirit of Fujiwara no Sai, and continues to be haunted by him soon after. Sai was once a great Go player, who committed suicide and continued to stay in the world as a spirit desiring only to play Go once again. Finally bending to Sai's pleas, Hikaru allows Sai to play Go through himself, unknowingly attempting the first game with the young prodigy Touya Akira. Time has finally started moving, as Sai's quest for the perfect game, "The Hand of God", is set underway. Based on the manga by Yumi Hotta and Takeshi Obata.

English: Hikaru no Go

Synonyms: Hikaru's Go

Japanese: ヒカルの碁

Type: TV

Episodes: 75

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Oct 10, 2001 to Mar 26, 2003

Season: Fall 2001

Studio: Studio Pierrot

Duration: 23 minutes



Hikaru no Go: New Year Special
Special - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Winter 2002

recommendation or anime you might like

TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2009
Shion no Ou
TV - 22 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2007
Hajime no Ippo
TV - 75 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2000
3-gatsu no Lion
TV - 22 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2016
Death Note
TV - 37 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2006
Ping Pong the Animation
TV - 11 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2014
Ginban Kaleidoscope
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2005
Kaleido Star
TV - 51 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2003
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2010
Piano no Mori
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Summer 2007
Initial D First Stage
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 1998
Dan Doh!!
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2004
Shaman King
TV - 64 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2001
Piano no Mori (TV)
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2018
Baby Steps
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2014
Major S3
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2007
Cardfight!! Vanguard: Asia Circuit-hen
TV - 39 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2012
Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2007
Episodes (0)